HARDWORK ENHANCE FINGERPRINTS

Joni Eareckson Tada once narrated:

I had to be fingerprinted last month by an FBI agent.
No, I hadn’t done anything wrong. I was being finger-printed because the president of the United States nominated me to serve on the National Council on Disability. What an honor! But after the nomination the FBI had to do a routine-and exhaustive-investigation on me. That meant fingerprints.
The polite G-man problems with me. Yes, I cooperated to the best of my ability, but have you ever tried fingerprinting a lady who hasn’t used her fingers in twenty years? Silly question. Obviously not. And I didn’t think it would be any big deal. But that poor agent had one big headache trying to get prints off the pads of my fingers.
Finally, after four or five tries, he looked at me, shook his head and said, “Lady, I’m sorry, but you just don’t have any tread on there fingers of yours.”
I figured he had run into this sort of thing before, but he said, “No.” The only folks without prints would be people who never used their hands. The agent went on to explain that ridges on fingers deepen with use. The hands of bricklayers, carpenters, typists, and homemakers who do a lot of dishes always have good prints. (I imagine diligent safecrackers would, too!)

Funny. I would have thought just the opposite. It seemed to me that hard work would wear off good fingerprints. But not so. Hard work enhances them.

One thought on “HARDWORK ENHANCE FINGERPRINTS

Leave a Reply

